The Central Government of the country has baptised the 21 uninhabited islands of the Union territory Andaman and Nicobar with the names of the embellished fighters rewarded with Param Vir Chakra, the highest wartime gallantry award of the country on Friday, 2nd December 2022.

The Member of Parliament (MP) of the Union Territory Mr Kuldeep Rai Sharma embraced the decision taken by the country’s government of christening the 21 uninhabited islands of the Andaman and Nicobar after the names of the soldiers awarded with Param Vir Chakra with the cooperation of the Andaman and Nicobar’s Defence administration and the local administration.

Concerning the Central Government’s Decision of naming the 21 islands, the MP of the Union Territory said that he is contended with the Central Government’s decision and also requested the Government of the Union Territory to print small handbooks for the students to know and learn in detail about the Sacrifices made by the martyrs for the motherland.

He also added in his statement that the Union Territory is a pilgrimage place since the Place it has been a witness of sacrifices made by the Freedom fighters and now has the island named after the soldiers awarded with the Param Vir Chakra for their sacrifice for the country land.

Details about the Naming of the Islands

 As per the reports, 16 islands out of the total 21 are situated in Northern and central Andaman District. The island which was numbered as ‘INAN370’ is now named as ‘Somnath Dweep’ after Major Somnath Sharma who sacrificed his life while handling the Pakistani infiltrators in the year 1947 near the Srinagar Airport.

The uninhabited island numbered ‘INAN308’ is named after the name of the Param Vir Chakra awardee Subedaar and Honorary Captain Karam Singh as ‘Karam Singh Dweep’. Subedar Karam Singh is known for protecting a forward post at Richmar Gali in a small village at the Indo-Pak border in the state of Jammu &Kashmir.

The List of the Soldiers Whose Names Have Been Given to the Islands

The other islands have been named after the following Soldiers who have been awarded with the country’s Highest Gallantry award for their sacrifice. Major Rama Raghoba Rane, Lieutenant Colonel Dhan Singh, Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore, Captain Vikram Batra,Lance Naik Albert Ekka, Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekon, Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran, Subedar Major Sanjay Kumar, Captain Bana Singh, Second Lieutenant  Arun Khetarpal, Colonel Hoshiar Singh Dahiya, Quartermaster Havildar Abdul, Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria, Naik Jadunath Singh and Naik Jadunath Singh.

All the embellished Soldiers have been honored by the central Government by giving their names to the 21 uninhabited islands situated in the North, central and the South Andaman Districts.

The Five islands out of the 21 islands named today are situated in South Andaman District.

Photo Credit-Deccan Chronicles